Car choices in Rome

Rome is filled with the ubiquitous Smart car. But there are many other models on the streets of Rome as well, a few of which can take your breath away — or make you burst out laughing! Here are a few distinctly different car choices encountered a few days ago while out in the Eternal City. Which would you choose?

One of my favorite cars, and the car of my childhood, is the Fiat 500, the Cinquecento. This is a simply adorable death trap on wheels. Amazingly, many of these little antiques still putter around the streets of Rome.

Perky orange Fiat 500
Perky orange Fiat 500

But if you want something a bit more modern and eco-friendly, tiny plug-in cars are multiplying like rabbits. Not sure if I could actually fit in one, but they are rather cute.

Tiny, electric car
Tiny, electric car

One car that I will pass on was some sort of weird miniature dune buggy… for driving on the high fashion street of Via Babuino, apparently. As I took a photo, a Roman guy admired it, saying “bella, bella.” I shook my head and walked on …

Not sure why this thing is needed for cruising the urban streets
Not sure why this thing is needed for cruising the urban streets

Just a minute down the same street, I found a  neon-green Lamborghini.  A little flashy, yes, but if I had my choice of the cars I saw today, this would be it.

